Fee Schedule

Effective January 1, 2024, all fees include a $1 surcharge for all Deputy Registrar - Reference: Minnesota Statutes, Section 171.06.

Effective October 1, 2023, the driver's license filing fee, which pays for the costs of the services provided in the driver's license/ID card issuance process, increased from $14 to $22, as required by Minnesota Statute 171.061, subd 4, amended by Chapter 68, Article 3, Section 16. The fees listed include this increase.

  • *Available at driver exam stations only
  • **Fee does not include the cost of a new license
  • ***Fee does not include a $1 surcharge

Driver’s Licenses

TypeFee
Class A, Regular$65 - Initial
$60 - Renewal
Class A, Under Age 21$45 - Initial
$40 - Renewal
Class B, Regular or Under Age 21$57 - Initial
$52 - Renewal
Class C, Regular or Under Age 21$50 - Initial
$45 - Renewal
Class D, Regular or Under Age 21$46 - Initial
$41 - Renewal
Provisional Driver’s License$32.50
Class D Provisional License Upgrade to Under Age 21 Driver’s License-No Violations on Record, renewal$37.50
Duplicate Driver’s License - All Classes$26
**Enhanced Driver's License (In Addition to Applicable Driver's License Card Fee)$15
**School Bus Processing Fee - Original and Renewal Applications$4


Identification Cards

TypeFee
Under Age 65$35.50 - Initial
$30.50 - Renewal
Age 65 and Older$32 - Initial
$27 - Renewal (Standard or REAL)
$30.50 - Renewal (Enhanced)
***Physical Disability, Developmental Disability or Qualified Mental Illness$0.50
Homeless Youth (Documentation Required)FREE
**Enhanced Identification Card (In Addition to Applicable ID Card Fee)$15


Permits / Endorsements

TypeFee
*Class A, B, or C Instruction PermitCharged by Exam Station
Class D Instruction Permit (Valid for 2 Years)$29.50 - Initial
$24.50 - Renewal
*Endorsement Examination FeesCharged by Exam Station
*Motorcycle Instruction Permit/Endorsement FeeCharged by Exam Station
*Motorcycle Endorsement Renewal (2-Wheel Only)Charged by Exam Station
*Standby or Temporary Custodian DesignationCharged by Exam Station


Expedited (Fast Track) Services

TypeFee
Driver's License and Identification Card Note: Driver's License or Identification Cards will be processed within three business days. The customer should receive the card via United Parcel Service (UPS) within 10 business days. Refer to the DVS Office Locations Map to see participating offices.$20


Reinstatement (**Revoked Licenses)

TypeFee
Alcohol/Drugs/Criminal Vehicular Operation (Effective July 1, 2003)Charged by Exam Station
Other Offenses, Including No-Fault Insurance RevocationCharged by Exam Station
**Suspended LicenseCharged by Exam Station
No-Fault Insurance (Suspended)Charged by Exam Station
Commercial Driver's License (CDL) DisqualificationCharged by Exam Station


Motorized Bicycle Operator’s Permit

TypeFee
*Knowledge Test and 30-Day Instruction PermitCharged by Exam Station
*Motorized Bicycle Operator’s Permit Before Age 21 and Valid to Age 21Charged by Exam Station
*Duplicate PermitCharged by Exam Station
*Renewal, Age 21 or OlderCharged by Exam Station


Retesting

TypeFee
*Third and Subsequent Knowledge Test After Failing First Two
Charged by Exam Station
*Third and Subsequent Skills Test After Failing First Two
Charged by Exam Station